Flash Fiction #13

It was easy to get on the plane. In the four hours it took to fly here gave me more than enough time to talk myself out of seeing anyone. 15 years had gone by since I was last home. I left when I was 17 and never looked back.

Leaving at such a young age was difficult. While going to school I was able to live on campus and had shit job after shit job for years. Once I finally graduated I was able to find a great job in my field. My parents never supported what I wanted to do. My childhood was rough so it made it easy to walk away. My four older siblings had left as soon as they turned 18. They hardly ever returned to visit. We wrote letters back and forth. My two oldest brothers joined the army, so they were all over the world. My younger brother got a scholarship and ended up in New York. My sister left and went to Hollywood in hopes of being famous. However, she waits tables to make ends meet while she works the worst acting jobs.

So here I was on the eve of my 30th birthday back in town to see my family. I can’t believe I let them talk me into this.

As I reach the front door of the home I grew up in my heart starts to race. It looks the same. The lights are all on and I can see people moving about. Do I knock? Its been so long……

As soon as I am face to face with the door it swings open and there it Ben my oldest brother.

Leave a Reply

